An Award-Winning

Faculty

Our researchers make discoveries related to maintaining a healthy brain, including investigations into Alzheimer’s disease and addiction, the computational brain, which involves studies of learning and memory, and the social/artistic brain with researchers using advanced imaging techniques to unlock the mysteries of our minds.
View Faculty Awards
    • 6 AAAS Fellows

      6 Faculty members have been named AAAS Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

    • A Diverse Faculty

      The NBB interests include investigation into Alzheimer’s disease and addiction, the computational brain, which involves studies of learning and memory, just to name a few.

    • Collaboration

      NBB faculty travel around the world to collaborate with top scientists and researchers from many distinguished institutions.

Faculty Directory

Matthew-Blurton-Jones-2016

Matthew Blurton-Jones

Associate Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

mblurton@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 5243

View Faculty Profile
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jorge A. Busciglio

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

jbuscigl@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 4820

View Lab Page
LarryCahill (from Chair Office)

Larry Cahill

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

lfcahill@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 2952

View Faculty Profile
S Cohen-Cory

Susana Cohen-Cory

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

scohenco@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 8188

View Faculty Profile
KarinaCramer

Karina Cramer

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

cramerk@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 2447

View Lab Page
Dr. Fortin

Norbert J. Fortin

Associate Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

norbert.fortin@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 9740

View Lab Page
CDFowler

Christie D. Fowler

Assistant Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

cdfowler@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 8363

View Lab Page
ANT_BIOSCI_LABTECH_CS5_Color-01_WhiteCoat -small

Ron Frostig

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

rfrostig@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 2883

View Lab Page
professor gandhi

Sunil Gandhi

Associate Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

spgandhi@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 8761

View Faculty Profile
Kim Green

Kim Green

Vice Chair and Associate Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

kim.green@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 3859

View Lab Page
Dr. Guzowski

John F. Guzowki

Associate Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

john.g@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 0259

View Lab Page
FrankatDesk

Frank LaFerla

Dean | Chancellor’s Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

laferla@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 5315

View Lab Page
Michael_Leon-headshot-300x300

Michael Leon

Emeritus Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

mleon@uci.edu

View Faculty Profile
Audrey chen

Audrey Lew

Assistant Professor of Teaching, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

lewac@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 5607

View Faculty Site
IMG_9498_c1

Gyorgy Lur

Assistant Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

glur@uci.edu
(949) 824 -5436

View Lab Page
me2-293x300

Stephen Mahler

Assistant Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

mahlers@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 6128

View Faculty Profile
Jim McGaugh

James L. McGaugh

Distinguished Emeritus Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

jlmcgaug@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 5401

View Faculty Profile
mcnaughton-264x300

Bruce McNaughton

Distinguished Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

brucemcn@uci.edu
(949) 824 -9642

View Faculty Profile
raju lab photo (from Chair Office)

Raju Metherate

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

raju.metharate@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 6141

View Faculty Profile
Andre Nicholas picture

Andrea Nicholas

Associate Teaching Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

acnichol@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 3253

View Faculty Profile
parker

Ian Parker

Distinguished Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

iparker@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 7332

View Lab Page
Craig2

Craig E. L. Stark

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

cestark@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 4201

View Lab Page
Georg

Georg F. Striedter

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

georg.striedter@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 5228

View Faculty Profile
sumikawa (from Frank-laferlas-imac)

Katumi Sumikawa

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

ksumikaw@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 5310

View Faculty Profile
Dr. Wood 04-11-14

Marcelo A. Wood

Chair | Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

mwood@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 6114

View Lab Page
yassa 1

Michael Yassa

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

myassa@uci.edu
(949) 824 – 1687

View Faculty Profile
ruth-benca-150x150-circle

Ruth Benca

Chair, Professor Psychiatry & Human Behavior
School of Medicine

rbenca@uci.edu
714 – 456 – 7209

View Faculty Profile
Carl-Cotman

Carl W. Cotman

Professor, Neurology School of Medicine

cwcotman@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 5847

View Faculty Profile
howard-federoff

Howard Federoff

Vice Chancellor, Health Affairs | Professor
UC Irvine Health

federoff@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 6119

View Faculty Profile
Dr. Gall 1

Christine M. Gall

Chair, Professor of Anatomy & Neurobiology
School of Medicine
Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

cmgall@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 8652

View Faculty Profile
Josh Grill, Associate Professor, Psychiatry & Human Behavior photo: steve zylius/UCI

Joshua Grill

Associate Professor, Psychiatry & Human Behavior
School of Medicine
Associate Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

jgrill@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 5905

View Faculty Profile
CK 11-10 lab coat

Claudia H. Kawas

Ph.D. Michigan State University, 1983
Theoretical biology of cancer, infectious diseases, and immunology.

ckawas@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 2323

View Faculty Profile
03_John MiddlebrooksLandscape

John Middlebrooks

Ph.D. Stanford University, 1998
Global carbon and nutrient cycles, fires, atmospheric trace gases, and biosphere-atmosphere interactions
(Joint appointment with Earth System Science).

j.middl@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 0119

View Faculty Profile
2007.02.25_04b_George.jpg

George Sperling

UCI Distinguished Professor, Cognitive Sciences
School of Social Sciences
UCI Distinguished Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

sperling@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 6879

View Faculty Profile
starr-arnold

Arnold Starr

Research Professor, Neurology
School of Medicine
Research Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

astarr@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 6088

View Faculty Profile
Steward

Oswald Steward

UCI Distinguished Professor, Anatomy & Neurobiology
School of Medicine
UCI Distinguished Professor, Neurobiology & Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

osteward@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 8908

View Faculty Profile
Andrea Tenner 11-03-14

Andrea Tenner

Professor, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
School of Biological Sciences
Professor, Pathology
School of Medicine
Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

atenner@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 3268

View Faculty Profile
Leslie Thompson Steve Zylius / UCI

Leslie Thompson

Chancellor’s Professor, Psychiatry & Human Behavior
School of Medicine
Chancellor’s Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

lmthompson@uci.edu
949 – 824 – 6756

View Faculty Profile