An Award-Winning

Faculty

Our researchers make discoveries related to maintaining a healthy brain, including investigations into Alzheimer’s disease and addiction, the computational brain, which involves studies of learning and memory, and the social/artistic brain with researchers using advanced imaging techniques to unlock the mysteries of our minds.
View Faculty Awards
    • 6 AAAS Fellows

      6 Faculty members have been named AAAS Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

    • A Diverse Faculty

      The NBB interests include investigation into Alzheimer’s disease and addiction, the computational brain, which involves studies of learning and memory, just to name a few.

    • Collaboration

      NBB faculty travel around the world to collaborate with top scientists and researchers from many distinguished institutions.

Faculty Directory

Matthew-Blurton-Jones-2016

Mathew Blurton-Jones, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: mblurton@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-5243

View Faculty Profile
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jorge A. Busciglio, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: jbuscigl@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-4820

View Lab Page
LarryCahill (from Chair Office)

Larry Cahill, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: lfcahill@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-1937

View Faculty Profile
Liz Chrastil

Liz Chrastil, PhD

Assistant Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: chrastil@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-6267

View Lab Page
S Cohen-Cory

Susana Cohen-Cory, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: scohenco@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-8188

View Faculty Profile
KarinaCramer

Karina Cramer, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: cramerk@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-2447

View Lab Page
Dr. Fortin

Norbert J. Fortin, PhD

Associate Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: norbert.fortin@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-9740

View Lab Page
CDFowler

Christie D. Fowler, PhD

Associate Professor and Chancellor’s Fellow, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: cdfowler@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-8363

View Lab Page
ANT_BIOSCI_LABTECH_CS5_Color-01_WhiteCoat -small

Ron Frostig, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: rfrostig@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-2883

View Lab Page
professor gandhi

Sunil Gandhi, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: sunil.gandhi@uci.edu

View Faculty Profile
Kim Green

Kim Green, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: kim.green@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-3859

View Lab Page
Dr. Guzowski

John F. Guzowski, PhD

Associate Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: john.g@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-0259

View Lab Page
FrankatDesk

Frank LaFerla, PhD

Dean and Chancellor’s Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: laferla@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-5315

View Lab Page
Thomas Edward Lane

Thomas Edward Lane, PhD

Chancellor’s Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: tlane@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-1360

View Faculty Profile
Audrey chen

Audrey Lew, PhD

Assistant Teaching Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: lewac@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-5607

View Faculty Site
lur

Gyorgy Lur, PhD

Assistant Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: glur@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-5436

View Lab Page
mahler

Stephen Mahler, PhD

Associate Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: mahlers@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-6128

View Lab Page
mcnaughton-264x300

Bruce McNaughton, PhD

Distinguished Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: brucemcn@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-9642

View Faculty Website
Dr Raju Metherate

Raju Metherate, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: raju.metharate@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-6141

View Faculty Profile
Andrea Nicholas picture

Andrea Nicholas, PhD

Associate Teaching Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: acnichol@uci.ed

View Faculty Profile
Eitan picture

Eitan Schechtman-Drayman, PhD

Assistant Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: eitans@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-4830

View Lab Page
Craig2

Craig E. L. Stark, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: cestark@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-4201

View Lab Page
Georg striedter

Georg F. Striedter, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: georg.striedter@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-5228

View Faculty Profile
sumikawa (from Frank-laferlas-imac)

Katumi Sumikawa, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: ksumikaw@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-5310

View Faculty Profile
Dr. Vivek Swarup

Vivek Swarup, PhD

Assistant Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: vswarup@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-3182

View Faculty Profile
Dr. Wood 04-11-14

Marcelo A. Wood, PhD

Chair and Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: mwood@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-6114

View Lab Page
yassa 1

Michael Yassa, PhD

Chair and Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences
Email: myassa@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-1687

View Faculty Profile
2019-Kevin-Beier-Penny-Lee-06398

Kevin T. Beier, PhD

Assistant Professor, Physiology and Biophysics
School of Medicine
Assistant Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

Email: kbeier@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-1083

View Faculty Profile
ruth-benca-150x150-circle

Ruth Benca, PhD

Chair, Professor Psychiatry and Human Behavior

School of Medicine

Email: rbenca@uci.edu
Phone: 714-456-7209

View Faculty Profile
Carl-Cotman

Carl W. Cotman, PhD

Professor, Neurology

School of Medicine

Distinguished Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior

School of Biological Sciences

Email: cwcotman@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-5847

View Faculty Profile
Dr. Gall 1

Christine M. Gall, PhD

Chair, Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology

School of Medicine

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior

School of Biological Sciences

Email: cmgall@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-8652

View Faculty Profile
Josh Grill, Associate Professor, Psychiatry & Human Behavior
photo:  steve zylius/UCI

Joshua Grill, PhD

Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Human Behavior

School of Medicine

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior

School of Biological Sciences

Email: jgrill@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-5905

View Faculty Profile
ivy, autumn 3

Autumn S. Ivy, PhD

Assistant Professor, Pediatric Neurology, Pediatrics
School of Medicine

Email: aivy@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-0570

View Faculty Profile
CK 11-10 lab coat

Claudia H. Kawas, PhD

Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior

School of Biological Sciences

Email: ckawas@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-2323

View Faculty Profile
03_John MiddlebrooksLandscape

John Middlebrooks, PhD

Ph.D. Stanford University, 1998
Global carbon and nutrient cycles, fires, atmospheric trace gases, and biosphere-atmosphere interactions
(Joint appointment with Earth System Science).

Email: j.middl@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-0119

View Faculty Profile
New Faculty orientation Wednesday September 17, 2014 in Irvine. PHOTOS BY GREG ANDERSEN

Sean Ostlund, PhD

Associate Professor, Anesthesiology
School of Medicine

Email: sostlund@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-1347

View Faculty Profile
Steward

Oswald Steward, PhD

UCI Distinguished Professor, Anatomy and Neurobiology

School of Medicine

UCI Distinguished Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior

School of Biological Sciences

Email: osteward@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-8908

View Faculty Profile
Andrea Tenner 11-03-14

Andrea Tenner, PhD

Professor, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
School of Biological Sciences
Professor, Pathology
School of Medicine
Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior
School of Biological Sciences

Email: atenner@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-3268

View Faculty Profile
Leslie Thompson
Steve Zylius / UCI

Leslie Thompson, PhD

Chancellor’s Professor, Psychiatry and Human Behavior

School of Medicine

Chair and Chancellor’s Professor, Neurobiology and Behavior

School of Biological Sciences

Email: lmthomps@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-6756

View Faculty Profile